Capital city

Capital (city)
The capital city (or just capital) is a city where the central government of a country, or part of a country, such as a state, province, or county, is located.
The leaders and officials work in the capital city.
Capitals are usually large cities. For example, Montevideo is Uruguay's biggest city, and Uruguay's capital. However, a capital is not always the largest city in a country. For example, the capital of the the Republic of India is New Delhi, which is smaller than Mumbai, and the capital of Pakistan is Islamabad, which is smaller than Karachi, both Mumbai and Karachi are very big cities.
Some countries have more than one capital, like Bolivia, which has two, and South Africa, which has three. Nauru is a country that does not have a capital. Some countries change capitals from time to time.
Do not confuse "capital" with "capitol", which is a building in the capital of the United States of America.

Visit Our HomePage