French language

French language
The French language "(French: "français" - pronounced "fransei")" is a Romance language that was originally spoken in France, Belgium, Luxembourg, and Switzerland. About 300 million people speak French as a native or a second language. Like most Romance languages, its nouns have genders that are divided into male (masculin) and female (féminin) words.
In ancient times, the Celts lived in what is now France. In those days, the land was called Gaul (Gallia). The Romans spread their power to Gallia and made Gallia their provinces. Because the Romans spoke Latin, the local people learned Latin and began to speak it. Their own language, Gaulish, tended to be spoken less often, although Breton is a language still spoken today in the part of France called Brittany, that came from the old Celtic language.
After the Roman Empire fell and Germanic peoples swarmed the countryside, Latin was changing quickly; and in medieval France it changed into two accents or languages: "langue d'oc" and "langue d'oïl". They both mean "language of yes", because "oc" was the word for "yes" in the south, and "oïl" meant "yes" in the north. Today, the word for yes in French is "oui", pronounced like "we".
"Langue d'oc" is now called Occitan, and it is still spoken by many people in Southern France.

Visit Our HomePage