Ipswich Town FC

Ipswich Town F.C.
Ipswich Town Football Club PLC (Ipswich Town) is an English football club. The club was founded in 1878. The chairman of the club is David Sheepshanks. The home stadium of the club is Portman Road in Ipswich, England. This stadium can hold 30,300 people. Ipswich Town plays in the Football League Championship. This division used to be called English Division One.
Local fans call the team 'town' because it is a shortened version of the team name. They are also called 'blues' because Ipswich plays in a mostly blue uniform. Some people also call Ipswich the 'tractor boys'. This nickname was mainly created by newspapers. Many Ipswich fans use this name as a joke rather than letting it be an insult.
The main rival of Ipswich Town is Norwich City. When these two teams play, there are very few empty seats and the crowd is usually louder than any other game.
Ipswich Town finished the 2005-6 season of The Championship play in 15th place.
Ipswich Town has won the top division once when it was called Division one, it is now called the Premier League. They have won the FA Cup once. The club has also won the UEFA Cup once in 1981. In 1973, 1975 and 2005 the "under 18" team won the FA Youth Cup. Ipswich has a very good reputation for educating young players.
Jim Magilton is the manager of Ipswich Town. He was formerly the captain before retiring in May 2006. Magilton joined the club in 1999 after being on loan from Sheffield Wednesday. He was part of the team which gained promotion to the Premiership in May 2000 by beating Barnsley 4'2 in the Play-Off final.
Two coaches of Ipswich Town have gone on to become the manager of the England national football team. The first was Sir Alf Ramsey. He also won the World Cup for England. The second was Sir Bobby Robson who got England to the semi-finals of the 1990 World Cup finals.

Visit Our HomePage